Words On Wednesday

2017-03-08 Beginning of Daylight Saving Time

The time has come once again to “spring forward” and run your clocks up by an hour. That’s right, Daylight saving time (not “savings”) is here.

In general, I don’t have a strong opinion on DST. I like standard Eastern Standard Time a little better, simply because I like twilight and night a little better than I like broad daylight, and because I prefer outdoor activities in cooler temperatures that evening offers. Getting up earlier during DST, eh, I’m used to it within a week or so.

During either time, I don’t really care much one way or the other, but the adjustment can be tough. When DST begins, especially, it’s difficult to convince my body to go to bed an hour earlier than I normally do, since 6 AM is coming an hour sooner either way. Manually changing the time on clocks is nearly a non-issue, since most internet-connected devices change automatically, and there aren’t that many clocks that I personally have to change. Analog watch when I decide to wear it, range, microwave, and vehicle clocks are about it. It’s not a huge deal to switch between times, just a mild inconvenience.

So many people I know seem to *love* DST. They enjoy the extended daylight hours, allowing activities later into the evening. For me, as I mentioned before, that’s not really a big deal. In the deep south, when summer temperatures regularly reach 100+ degrees and humidity hovers somewhere north of 70% most of the time, hot and muggy afternoons are miserable. I’d rather just hide out inside with the air conditioning on, until the sun goes down and the weather outside is a little more palatable.

As the wiki on DST suggests, there are a lot of back and forth points for the pros and cons of using DST. In my mind, if there is so little conclusive evidence as to which is better, why don’t we just pick one and stick with it? I would honestly be perfectly fine with using DST or EST year-round, and avoiding all the hoopla of switching between them twice a year.

To the best of my knowledge, there isn’t anything on the table about switching permanently to one or the other. I guess we’ll have to deal with the time change for at least a few more years into the future. In any case, be sure to brew and extra strong pot of coffee on Sunday and Monday, since we’ll all be a little groggy first thing in the morning.

Meta:

Words: 422 | Characters: 2365 | Sentences: 21

Paragraphs: 6 | Reading Level: 11-12th Grade

Leave a Reply

