Words On Wednesday

2017-01-04 New Year’s Day

New Year’s day, the first day of a new year and a holiday for most non-retail and non-restaurant businesses in the United States. As it stands, this is also my first post for this new “Year of the Dates” initiative I’m trying for Words On Wednesday. And yes, I’m aware that I said that I would be writing about holidays and such on the Wednesday before, but I can’t really do that unless New Year’s day falls on a Wednesday, can I?

I enjoy New Year’s day, but I always feel like it gets lumped in with Christmas for people who celebrate. For students, it’s the inferior holiday during Christmas break. Sure, the night before is fun for staying up to shoot fireworks and watch the ball drop in Times Square to welcome in the new year, but that’s the night before. What do you actually do for New Year’s? Eat collard greens and black eyed peas, if you’re southern, and sit around with family.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not looking a gift horse in the mouth. I’ll take a day off work without asking any questions, but it’s one of those days that I don’t really care much about making a hurrah about. Fireworks are cool and all, but they just don’t really wow me anymore (probably out of overexposure through most of my youth). I don’t party, so it’s not like I’m out with friends. In past years, I’ve spent the final few hours of December 31st playing video games, eating junk food, and making sure I know what channel the ball drop is on, or where I can stream it from.

New Year’s resolutions? Oh, you mean that boost in new gym memberships that’s over some time before March? I’ve never been one to care much for making resolutions for a new year. If I’m going to change my behavior or habits, I don’t need to coincide with an arbitrary point in the Earth’s orbit to do so. Why wait for a new year when you can start today? Why promise you’ll do something in the new year if you know it won’t last more than a few weeks? I suppose I’m just jaded, but it all seems pointless when nobody sticks to their resolutions.

I’ve enjoyed a day off work (Monday in my case, though we had the option to take Friday off from work). I’ll spend a few days or weeks writing 2016 any time I write the date. After that, things are going to pretty much be back to normal. Instead of “new year, new me,” I just look at it as once more ‘round the sun.

Meta:

Words: 444 | Characters: 2323 | Sentences: 24

Paragraphs: 5 | Reading Level: 9-10th Grade

Leave a Reply

