Words On Wednesday

2016-12-28 Year of the Dates

As the end of the year approaches, many people look toward the new year as an opportunity for new experiences. I’m not usually one to make new year’s resolutions, but I do have some ideas about where I want my blog to go in the coming year.

For the past 2 years and some change, I’ve mostly just written posts about topics as I think of them. I publish them usually in the order written, staggering posts for future weeks if I already have the next week scheduled. Current events aren’t really my thing, as I am keenly unaware of the goings on around me. Both locally and globally, I’m pretty clueless. So I just write about the topics I’ve mused about in my own experience.This coming year, I want to be more cognizant of both important dates, as well as current events.

I already have 23 posts picked out for next year, dog-eared to be about certain days of the year. They’re mostly spaced out evenly, and are scheduled for the Wednesday immediately preceding the topic date. Many of these are holidays, either major ones celebrated by a wide range of cultures, or minor ones that you probably wouldn’t know about unless you see a Google Doodle about it. Others are days that are relevant specifically to me, anniversaries of events mostly.

As for the remaining 30-ish Wednesdays of 2017, I want to keep posts delayed until the last moment. Sure, I’ll probably write quite a few posts to have on hand, but I don’t want to have them scheduled out a month in advance as I often have in the past. If something happens, good things, bad things, whatever, I want to be able to write about it and have it published within the following days or weeks. I could do that by shifting scheduled posts around, but I think it would be more appropriate to just wait until I know I don’t have a current topic to post about in the next week or so.

Maybe this whole idea will be a disaster, and my blog will be terrible next year. Maybe it’ll work out nicely, and I’ll continue the trend into 2018. In any case, I feel like it’s good to try new things, and this is one thing I’m curious about doing.

Make the last few days of 2016 count. Have some fun, step out of your comfort zone, but be careful. If you’re drinking to bring in the new year, have a designated driver or stay where you are until you sober up. If you’re shooting fireworks, save the alcohol for later. Having a good time doesn’t mean you have to live dangerously.

Meta:

Words: 449 | Characters: 2410 | Sentences: 23

Paragraphs: 6 | Reading Level: 9-10th Grade

Leave a Reply

