Words On Wednesday

2016-11-09 A Year After Fallout 4

Fallout 4 has been out for one day shy of a year and I still haven’t even touched it.

While this holds true for a large number of games, some much older than Fallout 4, I figured the anniversary of the release date was a good time to reflect on my disappointment. Long gone are the days that I could play games for upwards of 6 hours in a single sitting. No more midnight releases for me. No more powering through a game in the first few days or weeks after it comes out.

I have a tinge of regret for having still not played it. I really enjoyed both Fallout 3 and New Vegas, and I’ve heard generally positive opinions about Fallout 4. Some criticize the simplistic dialog system, but everything else seems pretty spot on. The shooting mechanics looks so much smoother than previous Fallout games, and several beasts like feral ghouls and deathclaws look genuinely terrifying.

It isn’t at all that I don’t *want* to play Fallout 4, quite the contrary. I would love to dive headfirst into post-war Boston and explore to my heart’s content. Instead, it’s that I just *can’t* play it. There are a plethora of reasons that make it unfeasible for me to play the game right now.

For one, I don’t own the game. While yes, this could be remedied by me purchasing the game, but that’s an expense that I just can’t justify right now. I already have several PS4 games in my possession that I haven’t played yet, so why bother buying a new one to throw into the heap? Over time, there will be more used copies of Fallout 4 available, and the price will gradually drop lower and lower. Why buy now when I can wait a little while longer and score it for much cheaper?

Perhaps the deeper issue is that I simply don’t have the time to play video games like I used to. I have a house, a family, and plenty of responsibilities that I didn’t have back in my college days. On breaks from school, I could play games from dawn till dusk, and on into the night, with absolutely no consequence. Now, that isn’t the case. I’ve got to cook dinner, put kids to bed, clean up the house, and then I’m just ready to crash. If I stay up to play a game any bit into the night, I will regret it tremendously the next morning.

Will I ever play Fallout 4? Absolutely. Maybe once I finish up the games currently on my plate, I can pick up a used copy of the game and at least power through the main story quests. While I would love to explore through every town and settlement, discover every waypoint on the map, and generally bleed the game dry, I just don’t have time for that. For every 1 game that I finish, there are probably 5 to 10 more released that I really want to eventually play.

Until I get around to finally playing Fallout 4, I sincerely hope that nobody spoils the story for me. If they do, I can’t fault them for it. Pretty much everyone I know with any interest in the game has long since bought it, beat it, and moved onto other games. Maybe when I’m finally ready to pick it up, there will be a special edition available with all the DLC. In the same way that I experienced Fallout 3, I can play the game once all the kinks have been worked out and it is released in the most complete version.

Meta:

Words: 605 | Characters: 3171 | Sentences: 34

Paragraphs: 8 | Reading Level: 9-10th Grade

Leave a Reply

