Words On Wednesday

2016-07-27 Ratchet & Clank (2016): First Thoughts

I recently started playing the new Ratchet & Clank game, a re-imagining of the first game of the series.

So far, I’m really enjoying it. At the time of writing this, I’ve just reached the last level of the game (judging by the number of gold bolts available). Though many would consider that almost enough time to write a comprehensive review, I only consider it half the battle. After beating the story mode once, I’ll have to play through again on challenge mode. Depending on how efficiently I play, it may even require a third time through the game to max out all the weapons and my nanotech level. The inevitable replay value weighs heavily on the quality of a Ratchet game in my opinion (see my post on Into the Nexus here).

It feels like the amount of story content is just right: enough to keep you busy and max out gear without repeating the game over and over, but not so long that you’re just ready for it to be done. The mechanics feel really nice, so much more polished that the original trilogy, and I would even say it improves over the more recent Ratchet & Clank: Future games. Playing the game just feels snappy and responsive.

I definitely plan on getting the platinum trophy for Ratchet & Clank. The series is undeniably one of my favorites, and they usually don’t have anything unreasonably difficult. One trophy I really don’t look forward to getting is the hoverboard trophy in Blackwater City. The Kalebo Thunder trophy was cake, and I beat the time limit with several mistakes. Faster than a Speeding Amoeboid, however, is extremely unforgiving. Videos I’ve seen of near perfect runs still barely beat the time limit.

If you don’t care to grind out the platinum for this game, I can easily recommend it as an enjoyable play even without a full review. The controls feel really tight, the environments look gorgeous, the shooting elements are implemented really well, and it’s generally just a really fun game to play. However, if you plan on grinding out all the trophies, stay tuned for a full discussion.

See my Ratchet & Clank playlist here.

Meta:

Words: 361 | Characters: 2140 | Sentences: 19

Paragraphs: 5 | Reading Level: 11-12th Grade

Leave a Reply

