Words On Wednesday

2016-05-04 MCU: Marvel Cinematic Universe

With Captain America: Civil War being released this Friday and all the hype surrounding it, I realize I haven’t seen a new Marvel movie in a very long time. Also, please note that there may be Marvel spoilers included here that will not be denoted with <SPOILER> tags. Unless you’re current on MCU media, be warned.

I like Marvel inasmuch as the movies are cool and I prefer Marvel characters to DC characters. Although I’d be interested in checking out the comics, I’ve never read any of them. By no means am I a diehard fan, and I have very little knowledge of Marvel intellectual property outside the mainstream characters. However, I do enjoy the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies.

Of the currently released MCU material, I’ve seen Iron Man, Iron Man 2, Marvel’s The Avengers, and Iron Man 3 (Yeah, I *really* like Iron Man). I wanted to see Captain America: The Winter Soldier when it came out, since I’ve heard it has huge bearing on events in MCU. When Avengers: Age of Ultron came out, I really wanted to see it but not without catching up on previous MCU installments. Eventually, Age of Ultron left theaters and I realized I wouldn’t be able to catch up in time to see it on the big screen.

With Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. available on Netflix, I started watching it just to get my fix of Marvel action outside the feature films. The live release was already into season three, and the first two seasons were up for streaming. Very quickly, my wife and I became addicted to the show and binge watched multiple episodes per sitting. Currently, we’re halfway into season two, after the reveal of Hydra and the “real SHIELD” for which Bobbi and Mack are working.

After getting a season and a half into Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and getting the Marvel fever again, I decided it was high time to catch up on MCU movies. Luckily, my local library has DVD and/or blu-ray copies of everything up to Ant-Man, the most recent release. That means I can check all the movies out and watch them in release order, the sequencing I’ve heard is the best to watch them in. Though I’ve already spoiled a bit of Winter Soldier with my existing knowledge of Hydra, I can at least get back up to speed in the right order.

As I check out these movies and watch them in order, I may release reviews of the films and my thoughts on MCU media. I’ve got my fingers crossed that I can catch back up before the release of Doctor Strange, currently scheduled for November 4 of this year. We’ll finish up the remainder of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. on Netflix, and either pick up a disc version of season 3 or hope it comes to Netflix in a decent time frame. If everything works right, we should be able to pick up at the premier of season 4 and stay current with the live release.

Though I realize I’m opening up numerous opportunities for spoilers, announcing that I’m so far behind in both Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and the MCU films, I sincerely hope that any readers will avoid discussing material I haven’t yet seen. Hopefully over the next few months, I’ll see all that missed media and be just as hyped for season four and new Marvel movies.

Meta:

Words: 567 | Characters: 3234 | Sentences: 53

Paragraphs: 7 | Reading Level: 11-12th Grade

Leave a Reply

