Words On Wednesday

2016-01-06 Expectations for 2016

Nobody knows the future, obviously, but I’ve got a few ideas about 2016.

First, I want and expect a restful year. I graduated from college, went full time at QS/1, and fathered my first child in 2013. I got married in 2014. I fathered my second child in 2015. It’s about due time for a slow year. Not that I plan on staying home all year, but I don’t want anything major. If we take a vacation, it will be a small one. No big purchases, provided neither car craps out on us. I just want to pay off medical bills, build up my savings account a bit, and relax.

I want to get more serious about going back to school for a master’s degree. As with my previous point, I don’t want to ACT on those plans yet, but I do want to lay the groundwork. Figure out where I want to go, how much it’s going to cost, all that jazz. That way, come 2017 or sometime thereafter, I’ll have a game plan and the means by which to set it in motion.

To better myself and beef up my resume a bit, I’d like to finally work on that side project of a radio station song database. The actual programming shouldn’t be hard, I just need to make myself get started. In addition to that project, it would be nice to tinker with Android again. The tools are all right in front of me, I just don’t put any time in it.

Before the kids grow up, I want to make sure I take in as much family time as possible. They can be a pain sometimes, but they’re only young once. I can already tell there are certain things they’ve grown out of, and I do miss those things occasionally. Another benefit to a relaxing year would be that I can get away from all the hustle and bustle to really appreciate those around me.

My expectations really aren’t anything grandiose, just some ideas I have. What about you? Is this going to be the year you climb a step up the corporate ladder? Will you finally get the degree you always meant to go for? Don’t waste time, grab 2016 by the horns and achieve your goals.

Meta:

Words: 382 | Characters: 1949 | Sentences: 27

Paragraphs: 7 | Reading Level: 9-10th Grade

Leave a Reply

