Words On Wednesday

2015-05-27 Castlevania a.k.a. Bloodstained

As a huge fan of the Castlevania series, I’m super excited to see Koji Igarashi making a spiritual successor.

Long story short, the guy over Castlevania got booted from his position, decided to go to kickstarter to pursue funding and gauge public interest for a spiritual successor to the series, and got completely blown away with support. The title of this planned game is Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night. You can read more of the details on the kickstarter page here (www.igavania.com).

I’m sure I’ve mentioned somewhere before, I love castlevania games, specifically the Metroidvania style exploration of Symphony of the Night and others. Something about that game style just makes me obsess over discovering all the rooms, finding all the items and upgrades, and just generally doing every little thing the game has to offer. From the results of the kickstarter, it appears I’m not the only one.

Frankly, I’m surprised a big name publisher didn’t snatch this dude up before. Castlevania fans are massively dedicated, and the series has met wild success over the past… what, nearly 3 decades now. That kind of talent is rare. Either way, I’m glad he’s pursuing making a Castlevania-type game, whether it’s officially part of the series or not. Whether I’m playing as Belmont, Alucard, or some no-name whatever, I love exploring the gothic halls of a castle and destroying mythical creatures that jumped right out of the pages of a Bram Stoker novel.

There is still a little while left to fund the kickstarter page for the game. Clearly, it isn’t going to have any trouble reaching funding. In fact, it’s met the goal several times over and already hit all the stretch goals originally planned. I’d love to jump on the bandwagon, especially for the kickstarter-exclusive benefits. I just can’t justify paying for a game 2 years out, for a console I don’t even own yet. Will I own a PS4 by March 2017? Probably, yeah. Even still, getting the physical edition (‘cause I don’t do digital only) is more money than I can justify dropping right now for a reward that’s so far off.

wpid-wp-1432731357074.png

Also, I have to apologize for this week’s post being so short. I’ve been busy with several freelance writing projects, so I haven’t had much free time to take care of other stuff. Not only that, but I started playing Pokemon Omega Ruby and I get a bit crazed with trying to catch pocket monsters.

Meta:

Words: 412 | Characters: 2371 | Sentences: 23 | Average Word per Sentence: 18 | Paragraphs: 6 | Reading Level: College Student

Leave a Reply

