Words On Wednesday

2015-04-01 Jelly Beans

I’m hanging up blogging. April fools, you guys are stuck with me for a while longer.

Customized Jelly Beans

I’m a big fan of jelly beans, but there are certain flavors I like more than others.

While considering my appreciation for buttered popcorn flavored jelly beans, I pondered how wonderful it would be to order customized packs of jelly beans straight from the Jelly Belly factory. None of this going to a candy boutique (or whatever you call those fancy candy stores with the individual bins of flavors). No need to grab a standard bag and pick around the ones you don’t like. Just go straight to the Jelly Belly web site and say, “I like these, these, and these. Here’s my money, now send me a bag.”

Of course, there could be much more depth to this service. I love buttered popcorn jelly beans, but I also enjoy toasted marshmallow and many others. Ideally, the service would list all jelly bean flavors currently in production. Users could mark each flavor as “love it,” “like it,” or “don’t like it.” Flavors left blank would be interpreted as dislikes. A mix would then be created, saved into the user’s favorites if a username is required. Edit: I originally intended to add that “love it” flavors would appear with a higher frequency than “like it” flavors. Users would then be able to order bags of this mix in sizes comparable to what are currently offered with standard Jelly Belly containers.

It seems to me that such a service should not cost much if any more than standard jelly beans, with the exception of shipping. I don’t have hard figures for the number of jelly beans that Jelly Belly produces on a daily basis, but I’m sure it’s a ridiculously large figure. Outside of the startup cost of machinery to handle the distribution of individual flavors, it shouldn’t be difficult to handle the mixing of specific flavors. This would benefit the Jelly Belly company in revealing which flavors are most popular, as well as which could be scaled back in production.

I have no doubt that this would be a popular service, provided the upcharge for specific flavors doesn’t exceed roughly 1.5x the standard price of Jelly Belly jelly beans. Nobody likes ALL the jelly beans, and this eliminates the need to suffer through the ones you don’t really like in order to avoid wasting beans. The standard mix would still sell well, I’m sure, but offering customized bags would allow people to have a collection of beans tailored to what they like best.

With businesses trying to make everything a social activity now, users could name their mixes and there could be maybe some sort of voting on the best mix. Perhaps users could subscribe to a randomly selected mix or featured mix once a month, with a small bag of beans delivered each month.

Maybe I’m overthinking the process of devouring jelly beans. Traditionally, you either suffer through the ones you don’t like, pick around them and throw them away, or share with someone. Maybe I’m being lazy and just don’t want to go to a candy store and pick out the flavors myself. Even still, I bet there are some people out there who think the way I would do and would gladly utilize a service to get exactly the jellybeans they like.

http://www.jellybelly.com/flavor-guides

As for my personal mix…
A&W Cream Soda, Berry Blue, Blueberry, Buttered Popcorn, Cappuccino, Caramel Corn, Cinnamon, Coconut, Crushed Pineapple, French Vanilla, Mixed Berry Smoothie, Orange Sherbet, Peach, Sizzling Cinnamon, Strawberry Cheesecake, Strawberry Daiquiri, Strawberry Jam, Sunkist Lemon, Sunkist Lime, Sunkist Orange, Sunkist Tangerine, Toasted Marshmallow, and Wild Blackberry

Edit: Buttered Popcorn and Toasted Marshmallow would be “love it” flavors.

So, Jelly Belly, the ball’s in your court. If somebody from the company contacts me and says I can purchase that exact mix, take my money.

Leave a Reply

