Words On Wednesday

2015-03-04 Google Play Music and PS4 Games

Google Play Music Upload Limit

Source: http://cdn.macrumors.com/article-new/2015/02/googleplaymusic-800x471.jpg
Source: http://cdn.macrumors.com/article-new/2015/02/googleplaymusic-800×471.jpg

Google increased the song limit for Play Music from 20k to 50k, and that is fantastic news.

For a few months now, I’ve been treading a thin line between uploading new music and deleting old music from my library. My total uploaded tracks has been fluctuating somewhere between 19,000 and 19,700. Of course, I didn’t want to hit the cap of 20,000 and not be able to upload any more music. On the other hand, I want to keep music that I enjoy or that I haven’t yet listened to.

I was successful in weeding out a lot of unnecessary music by simply going through every artist and deleting what I don’t like. After getting into the G-H range of artists, I had quelled the massive library down enough to escape the critical range. This was alright for a while, but new music I’ve been uploading lately has begun to put me close to the 20k cap again.

As I contemplated going back to my process of removing mediocre music, I received a notification upon loading my music. The upload limit, I was informed, had been bumped up to 50,000 tracks. Despite sitting at my desk in a full office, I nearly did a celebration dance. No longer would I have to optimize my music library with only songs I like the best.

Obviously, 50,000 is not some magical unlimited range where 20,000 is a tragically finite number. I could hit the 50k cap like a brick wall and be in the same boat I am with the previous 20k limit. However, the new limit is 2.5 times as large as the current limit, and I’ve been building my music library for many of my 23 years. I’d have to double what I currently have AND get more.

Considering I’ve grabbed what I believe to be most of the music I’m interested in from before… 2005 or so, I don’t have to worry about there being much new music in my collection from the past. And even though I plan on living quite a few years longer with artists continually releasing music, I sincerely doubt that in my lifetime there will be another 30,000 songs released that I will feel compelled to include in my personal music library. That’s an absurd amount of music.

PS4 Games of Interest

Recent discussions with PS4 owners have made me contemplate exactly what games I want.

Below, I’ve collected a few games into 3 distinct categories. The first category are games that I would go out and immediately purchase a PS4 to play, provided I have the funds available. Obviously, this is a very limited selection of titles. Next are games I plan on purchasing whenever I do eventually upgrade. None are system sellers for me, but they are games I’m either interested in playing or I’ve enjoyed previous titles in the series. The final category are games that have caught my interest, but aren’t guaranteed purchases. If I come across them cheap via deals or in the used game bin at Gamestop, I’ll probably pick them up and eventually play them.

Would Upgrade For:

  • Ratchet and Clank Reboot
  • Elder Scrolls VI
  • Crash Bandicoot (if it were to happen)

Will Get Upon Upgrading:

  • Fallout 4
  • Far Cry 4
  • GTA 5
  • Darksiders II: Definitive Edition
  • Devil May Cry 4: Special Edition
  • DmC: Devil May Cry Definitive Edition
  • Doom (no details yet)
  • Kingdom Hearts III
  • Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition
  • Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor
  • Outlast
  • Resident Evil: HD Remaster
  • Silent Hills
  • Thief
  • Wolfenstein: The New Order

Would Maybe Like to Get:

  • Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
  • Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag
  • Assassin’s Creed Unity
  • Diablo III
  • Dragon Age: Inquisition
  • Final Fantasy Type-0
  • Final Fantasy XV
  • Gran Turismo 7
  • LittleBigPlanet 3
  • Persona 5
  • The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth
  • The Elder Scrolls Online
  • The Evil Within
  • Uncharted (collection if announced)
  • Watch Dogs
One thought on “2015-03-04 Google Play Music and PS4 Games

Leave a Reply

